Suggested reads for fans of The Book Thief

For fans of our A Book and A Cook book club

Published On: Feb 16 2013 10:30:04 AM EST


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas: a fable by John Boyne

Bored and lonely after his family moves from Berlin to a place called "Out-With" in 1942, Bruno, the son of a Nazi officer, befriends a boy in striped pajamas who lives behind a wire fence.

Copper Sun by Sharon M. Draper

Having watched her village torched, witnessed her family killed, and been kidnapped by slave traders, Amari arrives on Mr. Derby's Carolina plantation afraid and confused, yet with time and hard work, she learns the language, befriends another slave, and struggles to attain her one true goal: to be a free person once again.

The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

Reprints the Definitive Edition authorized by the Frank estate, in a volume that features a new introduction by National Book Award finalist Francine Prose and a chronology of Anne Frank's life and times.

The Tiger's Wife: a novel by Téa Obreht

Struggling to understand why her beloved grandfather left his family to die alone in a field hospital far from home, a young doctor in a war-torn Balkan country takes over her grandfather's search for a mythical ageless vagabond while referring to a worncopy of Rudyard Kipling's "The Jungle Book.".

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

In 1941, Lina and her family are pulled from their Lithuanian home by Soviet guards and sent to Siberia, where her father is sentenced to death in a prison camp while she fights for her life, vowing to honor her family and the thousands like hers.

Maus: a survivor's tale by Art Spiegelman

The author-illustrator traces his father's imprisonment in a Nazi concentration camp through a series of disarming and unusual cartoons arranged to tell the story as a novel.

Milkweed: a novel by Jerry Spinelli

The hardship and cruelty of life in the ghettos of Warsaw during the Nazi occupation of World War II is captured through the eyes of a young Jewish orphan who must use all his wit and courage to survive unimaginable circumstances.

Code name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

In 1943, a British fighter plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France and the survivor tells a tale of friendship, war, espionage and great courage as she relates what she must do to survive while keeping secret all that she can.

Night by Elie Wiesel

The narrative of a boy who lived through Auschwitz and Buchenwald provides a short and terrible indictment of modern humanity.