Firearms In Florida: By The Numbers
You must be 18 years or older to buy a shotgun or rifle. There is a background check but no waiting period.
Any citizen 21 and older can buy a handgun. There is a background check and three-day waiting period. (Read all Florida gun purchase requirements
Chapter 790 of Florida statutes: Weapons and Firearms
Because federal rules prohibit a permanent database of gun sales or ownership, no one knows how many guns there are in Florida.
According to the Pew Research Center, 37% of Americans say they or someone in their household owns a gun. The U.S. Census Bureau says there were 7,147,013 households in Florida in 2012.
As of March 31, 1,429,505 Floridians held concealed carry permits. The percentage of adults that can legally carry guns ranges from 5 percent in Miami-Date County to 13 percent in Nassau County.
55,822 Duval County residents hold concealed weapons permits.
Over three different buyback programs in Duval County over the past year, the Sheriff's Office says it has received 2,035 guns.
In 2013 the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office recovered 33 stolen firearms. The department will pay $1,000 for the name of someone carrying an illegal gun if that tip leads to an arrest.
Florida and 16 other states bar employers from preventing their employees from bringing guns to work and keeping them locked in their vehicles, even if those vehicles are on the property of the employer.
Four of every 10 people admitted to a Florida hospital or emergency room with a nonfatal wound were shot by accident, according to data from the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration.
Florida had double the national average of accidental shootings over the past three years, according to 2013 statistics from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.