Todd Annis' family is pushing for a stricter crackdown on people who drive when they shouldn't.

"Their license is suspended for a reason," said Lauren Annis.

Both Todd's widow and mother-in-law say the laws are too loose and everyone's suffering because of it. They said they are reaching out to lawmakers and those who prosecuted Holly King, telling Channel 4 they've had many conversations with State Attorney Angela Corey, who supports their cause.

Lauren Annis said she feels the legal system failed her because the laws weren't strict enough. Her mother agrees.

"Change the law," said Barbara O'Neal. "Because if we don't, there will be someone else sitting here in our space doing the very same thing, pleading for the laws to be changed."

Annis' family members want mandatory jail time to force unlicensed drivers off the streets.

Florida laws for people caught knowingly driving with suspended or revoked licenses who are not habitual traffic offenders:
  • First conviction: Guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree
  • Second conviction: Guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree
  • Third or subsequent conviction: Guilty of a felony of the third degree
Any person whose driver’s license has been revoked and is considered a habitual offender and who drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while such license is revoked is guilty of a felony of the third degree.

King, now 24-years-old, pleaded guilty in September 2013 to driving with a suspended license in the crash that Annis. It was her second conviction on the same charge. She's serving one year in jail and is scheduled to be released in September 2014. The judge recommended her license be suspended for an additional 10 years.

After her sentencing hearing, King's family denied Channel 4's requests for interview to hear their side of the story. Her defense attorney, Mark Barnett, also said he had no comment when he was approached outside of the courthouse.

States provide databases to check to check the status of your license:
State of Florida | State of Georgia

If you know of someone driving on a suspended or revoked driver's license, notify your county's sheriff's office or the highway patrol.