JACKSONVILLE., Fl. – Do you know what's in your chocolate? Dark chocolate is a go to treat, but the Food and Drug Administration is warning consumers about what could be in the dark chocolate. A study revealed it could contain milk.
The FDA found some brands didn't specify the dark chocolate contained milk on the label. This could be potentially dangerous for someone allergic to milk. There are eight major food allergens, including milk, which by law are supposed to be listed on the label if any of the allergens are in a product.
The study involved testing 100 distinctively different dark chocolate products.
The results of the study are expressed below in the chart.
|Label Specifications||FDA test results|
|17 labeled "dairy free or allergen-free"||2 contained milk|
|7 labeled presence of milk||7 contained milk|
|93 with no indication of milk presence on label||55 contained milk|
|11 labeled "traces of milk"||6 contained milk at high levels|