Florida back-to-school holiday runs for 10 days
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Florida's popular back-to-school sales tax holiday is coming back, and it lasts for 10 days this year -- longer than ever.
It begins at 12:01 a.m. Aug. 7 and ends at 11:59 p.m. on Aug. 16.
Florida lawmakers have directed that During this holiday period, Florida law directs that no sales tax or local option tax will be collected on purchases of:
- Clothing, footwear and certain accessories selling for $100 or less per item
- Most school supplies selling for $15 or less per item
- Personal computers and certain computer-related accessories -- the first $750 of the price, when purchased for non-commercial home or personal use.
The holiday does not apply to:
- Any item of clothing selling for more than $100
- Any school supply item selling for more than $15
- Books that are not otherwise exempt
- Rentals or leases of any of these items
- Repairs or alterations of any of these items
- Sales of clothing, school supplies or computers and computer-related accessories in a theme park, entertainment complex, public lodging establishment or airport.
The Florida Department of Revenue has the complete list of what's exempt. It can be confusing. For example, crib blankets and protective athletic masks are taxable, but shoe inserts and baby clothes are exempt.
For full information, go to myflorida.com/dor.
Copyright 2015 by News4Jax.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.