Duval County names teacher-of-year semifinalists

15 educators advance to the next selection round of EDDY Awards

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Fifteen Duval County public school teachers were named Wednesday as semi-finalists for the 2014 Florida Blue Duval County Teacher of the Year.

The semi-finalists were selected from teachers nominated by every public school in Duval County. Over the next few weeks, five finalists will be selected, then the winner will be named teacher of the year at the EDDY Awards on March 12 at the Times-Union Center for the Performing Arts.

The semi-finalists are:

  • Iris Caro, Central Riverside Elementary
  • Pamela Chaffin, Mandarin High
  • Kimberly Duffield, Mayport Elementary
  • Amanda Dyal, Southside Middle
  • Joseph Frencl, Atlantic Coast High
  • Michael Khalil, Sandalwood High
  • Bryan Long, North Shore Elementary
  • Ashley Payanis, West Jacksonville Elementary
  • Jesica Pearce, Lake Lucina Elementary
  • Desirae Royal, J.E.B. Stuart Elementary
  • Kristen Sands, Jacksonville Heights Elementary
  • Alethea Tarabishi, Loretto Elementary
  • Jessica von Eiff, Westview K-8
  • Christopher Watson, Ortega Elementary
  • Carol Wright, Mt. Herman Exceptional Center

The teacher of the year program is a joint venture of the Jacksonville Public Education Fund and the Schultz Center for Teaching and Leadership. Tickets to the EDDY Awards are available at eddyawardsjax.org.

Copyright 2014 by News4Jax.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.