New Duval School Board members sworn in

Chair, vice chair appointed

Headline Goes Here

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - Four newly elected Duval County School Board members were sworn in Wednesday evening at a board organizational meeting, and the board chairman and vice chairman were appointed.

Cheryl Grymes, Ashley Smith Juarez, Connie Sands Hall and Jason Fischer were sworn in as the newest members of the School Board.

The Honorable Fred "Fel" Lee was appointed chairman of the board, replacing Betty Burney, and Becki Couch was appointed vice chairwoman. Lee had served as the vice chairman of the board since last November.

Jacksonville voters elected Grymes and Smith Juarez as replacements for Martha Barrett (District 1) and W.C. Gentry (District 3), respectively, and Sands Hall and Fischer as replacements for Burney (District 5) and Tommy Hazouri (District 7).

Lee represents District 2 and joined the School Board in November 2010. Couch represents District 6 and was also elected to the School Board in 2010.

For more information on each of the board members, visit the school district's website.

Copyright 2012 by All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.