Van Zant brothers releasing album from live show


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Van Zant brothers are releasing an album Friday from their only concert recording in existence.

Johnny and Donnie Van Zant, who are from Jacksonville, recorded the live show on January 28, 2006 at Wild Aventures Theme Park in Valdosta, Georgia.

"We are really excited for this album to come out right before the Fourth of July, to celebrate the independence of our country,” said the Van Zant brothers. “We hope everyone rocks out to RED WHITE and BLUE all day!”

The album is called "Red White & Blue (Live)." It will be available for purchase through Amazon and iTunes.

Watch the patriotic lyric video for "Red White & Blue (Live)" here

Late patriarch Lacy Van Zant, father of brothers Ronnie, Donnie and Johnny, compiled family photographs and memories and put together The Van Zant Family Southern Music Scrap Book.

“I have written this book for you, the fans," said Lacy Van Zant.

The book chronicles the family history, with 200 photographs of family members and memories. Each book is personally autographed by Johnny and Donnie Van Zant. It can be purchased here.

Ronnie Van Zant was the lead vocalist for the rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd. He died in 1977 when a plane carrying the band crashed in Mississippi. Five others were also killed.

Red White & Blue (Live) track listing:

  • Takin’ Up Space
  • Ain’t Nobody Gonna Tell Me What To Do
  • Sweet Mama
  • Wild Eyed Southern Boys (originally performed by 38 Special)
  • Things I Miss The Most
  • I Know My History
  • Help Somebody
  • Plain Jane
  • I Can’t Help Myself
  • I’m Doin’ Alright
  • Red White & Blue
  • My Kind Of Country
  • Call Me The Breeze (originally performed by Lynyrd Skynyrd)
  • Sweet Home Alabama (originally performed by Lynyrd Skynyrd)