Jaguars Preseason Schedule Announced

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Jacksonville Jaguars' 2011 preseason schedule is highlighted by a nationally televised game against the Atlanta Falcons at EverBank Field in the second week.

The game on Aug. 19 will be televised nationally on FOX at 8 p.m.

The Jaguars will open the preseason on the road against the New England Patriots. The team will round out the preseason schedule by playing at the Buffalo Bills in the third week, followed by a home game against the St. Louis Rams. Dates and times for those three games will be announced at a later date.

This marks the third consecutive year the Jaguars will open the preseason on the road, and the opener will be the second time the Jaguars will have played the Patriots in the preseason. The teams last met in the preseason on Sept. 1, 2004, and have faced each other five times in the regular season.

The Jaguars' home opener against the Falcons will mark the eighth time the teams will have met in the preseason and second straight season in Jacksonville. The Jaguars will visit the Falcons in the regular season.

The Jaguars will play their first preseason game against Buffalo at Ralph Wilson Stadium. The preseason slate concludes against St. Louis at home, which will be the first preseason game between the Jaguars and Rams since 1996. The Rams were the first visiting team to play the Jaguars in Jacksonville in the team's inaugural season when they visited for the 1995 preseason home opener.

The Jaguars have a 39-26 record in the preseason in their 16 seasons, including 20-12 the last eight years under head coach Jack Del Rio, and they have posted a .500 record or better in seven of the eight preseasons.

The 2011 NFL regular season schedule is expected to be released later this month.

The Jaguars' regular season home opponents are the Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, New Orleans Saints, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, San Diego Chargers, Indianapolis Colts, Houston Texans and Tennessee Titans.

The Jaguars' regular season road opponents are the Cleveland Browns, Pittsburgh Steelers, Atlanta Falcons, Carolina Panthers, New York Jets, Indianapolis Colts, Houston Texans and Tennessee Titans.