Most judges to run without opposition

Qualifying ended at noon Friday in judicial races


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Of nine Duval County judicial seats up for election this year, only one will appear on the ballot this fall. In the Fourth Circuit that includes Clay, Duval and Nassau counties, there will be three contested seats on the judicial bench.

When qualifying closed at noon Friday in judicial contests, Ruth Helper, Michelle Kalil and Rhode Peoples-Waters had qualified in Duval County's Group 12.

In the Fourth Circuit, 12 incumbent judges did not draw opposition, but there will be contested races for three seats on the bench.

Judge Brian Davis drew four opponents: Melina Buncome, Don Mairs, Greg Messore and Gerald Wilkerson. Suzanne Bass is running against Judge John Merrett. Alvin Barlow and Mark Borello are running in Group 29, where there is no incumbent.

Judicial seats are up for election every six years. The contested races will appear on the Aug. 14 primary ballot.

Duval County Court Judges elected without opposition are:

  • Honorable Roberto Arias, Group 2 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Brent D. Shore, Group 3 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Pauline M. Drake, Group 4 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Emmet F. Ferguson, Group 7 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Sharon H. Tanner, Group 8 - Incumbent
  • Honorable James A. Ruth, Group 9 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Charles G. Cofer, Group 11 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Dawn Hudson, Group 17 - Incumbent

Fourth Circuit judges elected without opposition:

  • Honorable Don Lester, Group 3 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Robert Foster, Group 6 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Lawrence Haddock, Group 7 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Thomas Beverly, Group 14 - Incumbent
  • Honorable McRae Mathis, Group 15 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Karen Cole, Group 16 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Peter Dearing, Group 17 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Hugh Carithers, Group 18 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Kevin Blazs, Group 19 - Incumbent
  • Honorable David Wiggins, Group 24 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Elizabeth Senterfitt, Group 33 - Incumbent
  • Honorable Daniel Wilensky, Group 35 - Incumbent