State to honor 11 veterans at Hall of Fame event


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Gov. Rick Scott and other leaders will honor 11 new members of the Florida Veterans Hall of Fame during a ceremony Wednesday at the Capitol.

Among the new inductees are the late Gov. Reubin Askew, the late Gov. LeRoy Collins, the late Gov. and U.S. Sen. Spessard Holland and former state Rep. William Proctor of St. Augustine.

The other inductees are U.S. Army veteran Jordon J. "J.J." Corbett; the late Navy Rear Adm. Kevin Delaney; retired Army Lt. Col. Dennis Freytes; U.S. Marine Corps veteran David Goetsch; retired U.S. Army Col. Washington J. Sanchez Jr.; retired U.S. Air Force Chief Master Sgt. Johnny E. Stewart; and U.S. Army veteran Frederick A. Taylor Jr.

The ceremony will start at 2:30 p.m.