Ellen Glasser elected new Atlantic Beach mayor

Challengers take all 3 commission seats in Atlantic Beach primary


ATLANTIC BEACH, Fla. – Atlantic Beach voters elected a new mayor in Tuesday's primary election. 

Ellen Glasser won the race for mayor with 54.28 percent of the vote. She defeated incumbent Mayor Mitchell "Mitch" Reeves, who received 42.76 percent of the vote, and challenger Milton "Sarge" Hall, who got 2.96 percent of the vote, according to the Duval County Supervisor of Elections website

The mayor also holds Atlantic Beach City Commission Seat 1. Glasser will serve a two-year term. 

In both races for the two other City Commission seats, the challenger won. 

Candace Lee Kelly defeated incumbent Commissioner James "Jimmy" Hill in the Seat 4 race with 50.58 percent of the vote. 

Brittany Norris received 54.33 percent of the vote in the Seat 5 race to defeat Mitchell "Mitch" Harding, who currently holds the office. 

Polls closed at 7 p.m. According to the Supervisor of Elections website, voter turn out was at 30.81 percent -- with 3,189 ballots cast among the city's 10,351 registered voters. 

Since each victor in each race got more than 50 percent of the vote, there will be no need for a runoff election in November.