Most state circuit judge races uncontested

Photo does not have a caption

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Florida voters will have little choice in electing circuit judges this year. With the end of qualifying Friday, 177 circuit-judge races drew only one candidate, while 33 races will be contested, according to a list posted on the state Division of Elections website.

Of those, only six incumbent judges statewide drew challengers.

In the 4th Judicial Circuit, which is made up of Duval, Nassau and Clay counties, only one seat is contested. Former Republican state Rep. Charles McBurney is running running against Maureen Horkan in Group 18.

Another contested seat is in the 7th Judicial Circuit, which includes Flagler, Putnam and St. Johns Counties, where Linda Gaustad, Will Ryan and Sebrina Slack are running in Group 15.     

Many of the 177 candidates who do not face opponents are incumbents. 

About the Author: