Duval County back-to-school reminders

Classes begin Monday, August 18

By Nick Jones - Producer

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - It's back to school for students in Jacksonville and six other area school districts Monday. Some students in Duval County will want to keep some changes in mind.

Extended Hours

52 different Duval County schools are now either required or recommended for extended school hours during the 2014-2015 school year.

To see if your school falls into this category, click here for a full list.

Magnet School Shuttle Buses

  • Darnell-Cookman
  • Douglas Anderson
  • Eugen Butler
  • James Weldon Johnson 
  • Kirby Smith
  • Julia Landon  
  • Lavilla
  • Paxon
  • Kirby Smith
  • Julia Landon  
  • Lavilla

Students attending these schools can ride a bus to their boundary determined neighborhood high school. A second bus will pick students up from the high school and shuttle them to their school. Parents can also drop their children off at their neighborhood high school, and students can then take only the shuttle bus.

Shuttle buses leave from the high school at 7:15 a.m.

There is an exception for students living in the Fletcher High School area. Two buses -- one in the north beach area, the other in the south beach area, will pick students up at public locations and take them to Fletcher Middle School where they will be shuttled to their school.

Shuttle buses leave Fletcher Middle School at 7 a.m.

Click here for a full list of Duval school bus routes

Copyright 2014 by News4Jax.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.