30 apply to be next Duval schools superintendent

Headline Goes Here

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - There have been 30 applications submitted for the next superintendent of Duval County Public Schools, according to a school district spokeswoman.

The School Board will hold a workshop Aug. 16 to review the list with the search company. It's then expected to whittle down the list of candidates.

Interviews would begin by the end of August, according to the spokeswoman.

The deadline for applications was Monday.

The School Board's Envisioning Committee released a report last month offering its opinions on what type of leader the district needs.

The main conclusions reached were that the new superintendent must be someone with professional experience, a consensus builder and collaborator, a leader, someone who can handle change properly, a person who celebrates diversity and someone who is a visionary.

Current Superintendent Ed Pratt-Dannals will retire in December.

The superintendent search firm, McPherson & Jacobson, LLC, released the official list of applicants, which includes three internal candidates:

Ayars, Jr., Arthur Douglas (Doug) (district's chief operating officer)
Boudousquie, Cynthia Kaye
Bullock, Yvonne
Carpenter, Dennis L.
Cash, Kriner
Cheek, Dennis W.
Clarke, Frederick C.
Cotter, Vincent F.
Cunningham, Carlton
Hendrix, Douglas
LeRoy, Kathryn M. (district's chief academic officer)
Luciani, Andrew
Miller (Bubenheimer), Mary
Miller, William C.
Morgenthal, S. Jayne Risen
Moss, Jeff Charles
Penn, Alexandra
Raglin, Ronald
Ramos, Sr., John J.
Richardson, Diane J.
Robbins, Dale
Rudolph, Lawrence
Sanders, Eugene T. W.
Shabazz, Rashid K.
Stellar, Arthur Wayne
Vitti, Nikolai P.
Watkins, Leah Rice
Williams, Donna Elizabeth
Williams, James A.
Young, James (former principal of Ribault High School; recently tendered resignation)

Copyright 2012 by News4Jax.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.