Jacksonville to host 2013 Florida Sports Hall of Fame ceremony


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Mayor Alvin Brown announced Tuesday that Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena will host the 2013 Florida Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony on April 27.

"Hosting this event is both an honor and a vote of confidence that helps establish Jacksonville as one of America's great sports cities," Brown said in a news release. "I encourage everyone to join me in congratulating the inductees, and to take some time to learn about the Jacksonville connections to their legendary careers. These stories go beyond the box scores to tell a greater story of the pride and inspiration that fuels our city."

The 10-member class has a distinct Jacksonville flair, headlined by baseball star Chipper Jones; PGA Tour winner Mark McCumber; tennis star Brian Gottfried; football coaching legend Corky Rogers; former Jacksonville Jaguars running back Fred Taylor and NASCAR star LeeRoy Yarbrough. Joining the Jacksonville-connected honorees are Brooke Bennett (swimming), Pete Clemons (rodeo), Tim Hardaway (basketball) and Gabrielle Reece (volleyball).

"We are excited to bring the Florida Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony to Jacksonville and know that this year's event will be a wonderful experience for all of the attendees," said Rick Danzler, president of the Florida Sports Hall of Fame. "For more than 50 years, the Florida Sports Hall of Fame has been recognizing Florida's greatest sports figures, and this year is no exception. Of the 10 inductees, nine sports are represented, a testament to the diversity of the sports scene in our state."

The event starts with a VIP reception at 5:30 p.m., with dinner beginning at 7 p.m. Tables of 10 with tickets to the VIP reception are $1,500. Tables for the event are $1,000 with individual seats at the dinner on sale for $100 each. Individual seats for just the ceremony are $15. For more information on tickets, visit www.FloridaSportsHallofFame.com or contact Executive Director John Reger at 352-682-3336.