Competition: First look at 2014 Players' field


PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – The Players qualification process begins with players who have won PGA Tour events, starting with the completion of the 2013 tournament through the start of this year's Players.

Five past Players champions have all won since last year's tournament in Sawgrass and are therefore again qualified for the 2014 event: Tiger Woods (2001, 2013); Matt Kuchar (2012); Henrik Stenson (2009); Phil Mickelson (2007) and Adam Scott (2004).

The most recent addition to the winners' list is Jacksonville Beach-resident Matt Every, who captured Sunday's Arnold Palmer Invitational and will make his third start at The Players.  Every had already qualified for the event by finishing in the top 125 of the final 2013 FedExCup standings.

Other locals who have qualified for The Players via that category include Jonas Blixt, Jim Furyk, Luke Guthrie, Billy Horschel and David Lingmerth.

Four additional past champions have also qualified for The Players through the top-125 category:  Justin Leonard, 1998; Sergio Garcia, 2008; Tim Clark, 2010; and KJ Choi, 2011.

There are three ways that players can still find their way into the strongest field in golf: winning a PGA Tour event between now and The Players; being inside the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking at the conclusion of the Zurich Classic of New Orleans on April 27; or being inside the top 10 in the current FedExCup standings on April 27.

The Players returns to the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass, May 6-11. Tickets are on sale at PGATOUR.COM/THEPLAYERS as well as at local Publix stores. Fans are reminded that parking is free for cars with more than four passengers; vouchers and parking passes must be printed or purchased, respectively, in advance.