Tiger Woods commits to return to The Players

International field of PGA's finest to gather at Sawgrass


PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. – Tiger Woods announced Friday on his Twitter feed he will be in the field at the 2015 Players.

"Looking forward to going back to The Players this year, hoping for a repeat of 2013," Tiger tweeted.

Woods also won in Sawgrass in 2001.

Woods has not played since the Masters when he injured his wrist when his club hit a tree root during a shot out of the rough on the ninth hole in the final round at Augusta National.

Woods will be among the strongest and deepest field in all of golf. The 2015 tournament announced that Masters champion Jordan Spieth will also compete in next month.  It will be the 21-year-old's second appearance in the PGA Tour's richest tournament, having he led the first three rounds of last year's tournament, playing the first 58 holes without making a single bogey. But he struggled to a 2-over 74 on the final day to finish three shots behind eventual champion, Martin Kaymer, to finish tied for fourth.

With Rory McIlroy, Henrik Stenson and Bubba Watson are also committed to the tournament, that means at the four top players in the Official World Golf Rankings will be in the hunt in Sawgrass.

This week, Phil Mickelson, 2007 Players champion, confirmed he will also play in the tournament.

Tiger Woods, whose shot out of pine straw on the ninth hole at Augusta National last week struck a tree root and had him crying out in pain, is expected to take a few weeks off, but does plan to return for The Players.

Those competing for the $10 million purse in the May tournament in Ponte Vedra Beach also represent one of the most international fields of golfers. Of the 146 players currently qualified, there are 25 countries represented and there is a strong chance 2015's roster will be the most international field in tournament history.

Outside of the United States, the current field consists of players hailing from Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Colombia, England, Fiji, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Japan, Korea, the Netherlands, Northern Ireland, New Zealand, South Africa, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Venezuela, Wales and Zimbabwe. If one of those players found the winner's circle on Sunday, he would claim the 14th international victory in the history of The Players and the sixth in the last 10 years.