Hargreaves named preseason All SEC

Florida is one of 10 SEC schools that had at least one All-SEC First Team selection.


GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Five Gators were named to the 2015 Preseason Coaches All-Southeastern Conference Football Team, as announced by the SEC on Tuesday.

Junior defensive back Vernon Hargreaves III was chosen as a First-Team All-SEC selection. Florida is one of 10 SEC schools that had at least one All-SEC First Team selection.

In addition, senior defensive lineman Jonathan Bullard and senior linebacker Antonio Morrison were included on the list of second-team defensive selections. On offense, juniors, Demarcus Robinson (wide receiver) and Kelvin Taylor (running back) were third-team choices.

Hargreaves led Florida and the SEC with 13 pass breakups and finished the 2014 season with 50 total tackles, earning him a unanimous First-Team All-SEC selection and a Third-Team All-America pick by Phil Steele. The Tampa, Fla. native enters the 2015 season on four postseason award watch lists, including the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Morrison, a Second-Team All-SEC selection in 2014, led the Gators with 101 tackles on the season becoming the first linebacker to post 100 tackles since Brandon Spikes had 131 in 2007. The senior returns to The Swamp on four postseason award watch lists that include the Bednarik Award and the Butkus Award.

After starting all 12 games for the Gators in 2014, Bullard amassed 52 tackles on the season, good for second-most among defensive linemen. The Shelby, N.C., product posted five or more tackles six times during the 2014 season.

A Third-Team All-SEC selection by Phil Steele in 2014, Robinson had the best season by a Gator receiver since 2009, totaling 53 catches for 810 yards and seven touchdowns. Earlier in the summer, he was named to two postseason award watch lists.

Taylor finished the 2014 campaign second on the team with 565 rushing yards on 116 carries. The junior was selected to the Freshmen All-SEC team in 2013 by the league's coaches.

This year marks the 13th consecutive year of the SEC Coaches' Preseason All-SEC team.

All 14 SEC schools are represented by at least two players on the All-SEC teams. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Florida opens the 2015 season at home on Saturday, September 5, against the New Mexico State Aggies at 7:30 p.m.