Sen'Derrick Marks nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Jaguars Defensive Tackle nominated for Art Rooney Sprtsmanship award

(AP Photo/Stephen B. Morton)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The 32 player nominees for the second annual Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award have been finalized. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes NFL players who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field. Representing the Jaguars is Defensive Tackle, Sen'Derrick Marks who piled up 44 combined tackles and 8.5 sacks in 2014 before tearing his ACL.

The award was created last season in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer Art Rooney, Sr. The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select from the 32 nominees eight finalists (four in the AFC; four in the NFC). Last year's winner was Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals.

About the Author: