Will it be Georgia or LSU vs. FSU or Penn State?


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – On the eve of Team Selection Sunday quickly approaching, the TaxSlayer Bowl releases an update which teams are under consideration for the Saturday, Jan. 2, 2016, game.

The four teams in the conversation include Georgia, LSU (SEC) versus either Florida State (ACC) or Penn State (Big Ten).

“This is such an exciting time for the TaxSlayer Bowl,” said  “It would be an honor to host any one of these four iconic college football brands," said TaxSlayer Bowl President Rick Catlett.

No. 9 Florida State (10-2) could still play for a New Year's Six Bowl, depending on how conference championships play out Saturday.

"If it's not Florida State and we go Big Ten, then it's probably Penn State," Catlett said in a video posted this week on YouTube..

The announcement of the two participants is expected to take place at 5:30 p.m. this Sunday.

The 71st annual TaxSlayer Bowl will be played at noon on Saturday, Jan. 2, at EverBank Field and will be nationally televised on ESPN.

Selection process

The TaxSlayer Bowl is currently in year two of six with each of its participating conferences which provide teams in the following manner:

The Southeastern Conference will send a representative to participate in the TaxSlayer Bowl each of the next six years beginning with the Jan. 2, 2015 bowl game. 

Big Ten/ACC or Notre Dame:
The Big Ten Conference and the Atlantic Coast Conference or Notre Dame will have a representative in the TaxSlayer Bowl – over the next six years and in no particular order, three representative from each conference will participate beginning with the Jan. 2, 2015 bowl game.