McElwain named SEC Coach of the Year

Gators won 11 games total in two season before McElwain arrived


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – If his first season is any indication Jim McElwain is on his way to doing great things in Gainesville. On Wednesday he was named the 2015 SEC Coach of the year.

McElwain earned the honor after leading the Gators to their first SEC East title since 2009.  McElwain is only the third first-year coach in SEC history to reach the SEC Championship game, joining LSU’s Les Miles (2005) and Auburn’s Gus Malzhan (2013).

The Gators had won a total of 11 games in the two seasons before McElwain arrived from Colorado State.

Florida is currently ranked No. 19 in the AP Top 25 poll and will face the Michigan Wolverines in the Buffalo Wild Wings Citrus Bowl on Jan. 1.