NY team wins Little League World Series

Victory snaps 5-year drought for US teams

(Rob Carr/Getty Images)


Ryan Harlost led Endwell, New York, to the Little League World Series title Sunday with a 2-1 victory over South Korea.

Harlost struck out eight and held South Korea to five hits in six innings. He also scored in the fourth inning.

Endwell snapped a five-year championship drought for U.S. teams at Lamade Stadium in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. It’s also the first championship for a New York team since Staten Island won in 1964.

Conner Rush scored in the fourth inning to give Endwell a lead it wouldn't relinquish. Harlost scored the deciding run on a passed ball a batter later.

Junho Jeong gave up two runs on four hits and struck out nine for South Korea. Yoomin Lee homered in the fifth for the team from Seoul. Minho Choi struck out with runners on first and second to end the game.