FSU places four on all-ACC first team

Sandalwood High's Demarcus Walker was named 1st team defensive lineman


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – After finishing off a 9-3 regular season with a fourth-consecutive win Saturday night, Florida State had four players selected to the media’s Atlantic Coast Conference First Team, the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association announced Monday afternoon. Running back Dalvin Cook, the league’s top vote-getter, and offensive tackle Roderick Johnson earned First Team honors for a second-straight season, while senior defensive end DeMarcus Walker and sophomore cornerback Tarvarus McFadden earned First Team honors for the first time.

In total, 12 Seminoles earned a spot on the First, Second, Third, or honorable mention teams this season.

Cook, the league’s top rusher for the second straight season, finished with 1,620 rushing yards, 19 total touchdowns and 2,042 yards from scrimmage. He ranks second nationally in rushing and yards from scrimmage among the Power 5, while his 19 total touchdowns (18 rushing, 1 receiving) are second in the ACC. A finalist for the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s top running back, Cook had 501 more rushing yards than the next closest ACC running back, NC State’s Matt Dayes (1,119).

Cook was named to the media’s First Team as a sophomore in 2015, and was the second-team running back as a freshman in 2014 despite starting just three games.

Johnson, Cook’s top blocker for each of the past three seasons, was the leading vote-getter among offensive linemen. For the second-straight year, Johnson was named the Jacobs Blocking Trophy recipient as the league’s top offensive lineman. Johnson led an offensive line that showed steady improvement throughout the season, opening rushing lanes for Cook and company that led to 206.8 rushing yards per game. In the air, Johnson protected quarterback Deondre Francois, who finished with 3,128 yards, the only freshman in the country to break the 3,000 yard mark this season.

On defense, Walker is tied for the national lead with 15.0 sacks while adding 17.5 tackles for loss and leads the Seminoles with 64 tackles. Against Florida on Saturday, Walker recovered the first two fumbles of his career. He forced three fumbles on the season while breaking up a pair of passes. Perhaps his biggest play in 2016 was a blocked extra point in the final minutes at No. 10 Miami, preserving a 20-19 Florida State win.

Walker was a second team selection in 2015.

McFadden, a cornerback from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., is a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, awarded annually to the nation’s top defensive player. McFadden is tied for the national lead with eight interceptions, the second-most for any Seminole and the most since Terrell Buckley set the school record of 12 in 1991. McFadden added five pass breakups and 3.0 tackles for loss on the year.

Wide receiver Travis Rudolph was named a second team receiver in consecutive seasons, finishing the regular season with a team-high 807 yards and 7 touchdowns, including a score in each of the past four games. Guard Kareem Are is also on the second team, improving on last season’s third team finish.

Defensive tackle Derrick Nnadi is on the third team for a second-straight year.

Guard Wilson Bell, center Alec Eberle, placekicker Ricky Aguayo, defensive tackle Demarcus Christmas and cornerback Marquez White were named honorable mention All-ACC.