Steve Spurrier elected to College Football Hall of Fame


JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – On Monday former Florida coach Steve Spurrier became only the fourth person elected to the College Football Hall of Fame as both a player and a coach. Spurrier, who also coached at South Carolina, will go into the Hall with his former Southeastern Conference nemesis Peyton Manning.

The rest of the new Hall of Fame class of 13 players and coaches includes Southern California Heisman Trophy winner Matt Leinart, San Diego State running back Marshall Faulk and Danny Ford, who coached Clemson to its only national championship.

Spurrier won the Heisman trophy as Florida’s quarterback in 1966 and was elected into the hall as a player in 1986. In 12 seasons as the Gators coach he produced a stellar record of 122-27-1. Prior to arriving in Gainesville, Spurrier spent three seasons at Duke. After a brief stint as the head coach of the Washington Redskins, Spurrier returned to the college ranks in 2005 with South Carolina. He would spend another 11 seasons with the Gamecocks.

Last summer, Spurrier returned to Gainesville where he currently serves as an ambassador and consultant for the Gators athletic program. In June, Florida renamed its football field Steve Spurrier-Florida Field at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Also to be inducted in December at the National Football Foundation banquet are:

- Notre Dame linebacker Bob Crable (1978-81)

- Michigan State wide receiver Kirk Gibson (1975-78)

- Texas offensive tackle Bob McKay (1968-69)

- Texas A&M linebacker Dat Nguyen (1995-98)

- Georgia Southern running back Adrian Peterson (1998-2001)

- Boston College nose guard Mike Ruth (1982-85)

- New Mexico defensive back Brian Urlacher (1996-99)

- Mount Union coach Larry Keheres, who won 93 percent of his games and 11 Division III national championships from 1986-2012.