Tim Tebow highlights 2017 FL/GA hall of fame class

Tebow is joined by Lito Sheppard, Knowshon Moreno, and Randall Godfrey


JACKSONVILLE, Fla.The City of Jacksonville has announced that former University of Florida standouts Tim Tebow and Lito Sheppard will be inducted to the 2017 Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 27, as part of the Florida-Georgia weekend.

Tebow, one of the most decorated Gators of all time, starred at Florida from 2006-2009. During his tenure, the left-handed quarterback was a part of two national championships, three appearances in the SEC Championship game, and won a Heisman Trophy. Tebow departed UF with a 3-1 record against Georgia and over 12,000 yards of total offense.

A defensive back from 1999-2001, Sheppard was a consensus first-team All-America selection in 2001. He became just the fourth sophomore - and second on defense - in Florida history to earn first-team All-America recognition. In addition to his eight career interceptions, Sheppard posted a perfect 3-0 record against Georgia as a Gator.

The duo will join Georgia running back Knowshon Moreno and linebacker Randall Godfrey as inductees to the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame. Longtime University of Florida administrator and University of Georgia J. Reid Parker Director of Athletics Greg McGarity will also be inducted.


"We are honored to recognize this year's class of Hall of Fame inductees," said City of Jacksonville Mayor Lenny Curry. "Just like the game, the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony has become a long-standing tradition in our city where we celebrate the incredible achievements that make this rivalry one of the best in the country."

Created in 1995, the Florida-Georgia Hall of Fame honors and recognizes the memorable players, coaches, and administrators involved in the long-standing rivalry.  Over the 22-year history of the Hall of Fame, there have been 95 people inducted including legendary Gators Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerffel, Jack Youngblood and Jevon Kearse, as well as Bulldog legends Vince Dooley, Herschel Walker, David Pollack and Buck Belue.