ALACHUA COUNTY, Fla. – A pickup truck driver is facing DUI charges after investigators said he nearly hit an Alachua County deputy and another driver who were pulled over on the side of the road Tuesday morning.
The deputy said he “felt the rush of wind” behind him when a pickup truck crossed the outside lane line and came inches from hitting him as he stood outside his patrol vehicle talking with a driver he'd pulled over for a tag light violation.
The passing truck, which had failed to obey Florida's Move Over law, took out the driver's side mirror on the vehicle the deputy had initially pulled over. That first driver was given a verbal warning.
But the driver of the passing truck was slapped with cuffs after deputies caught up to him and said he showed signs of impairment. They said they found an open case of beer in his truck.
The whole incident was caught on dash cam video, showing just how close the pickup truck came to the deputy.
Wow. That was close. #MoveOverFL
Wow. That was close. It was early Tuesday morning, and clearly traffic stops are never “routine.” What started out a broken tag light nearly became broken bones, and ended with a drunk driving arrest. You can see an entire wheel of a full size pickup truck cross the white line next to your Deputy Sheriff, and his report states he “…felt the rush of wind behind me...” – that first driver received a verbal warning. The sound you hear on the video is the mirror being knocked off the stopped truck. After catching the driver that failed to #MoveOverFL, deputies noted some indicators of impairment, to include an open case of beer in the truck. With a hand from our partners at the Florida Highway Patrol (Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles), the second driver was arrested for DUI. Florida law, State Statute 316.126, requires you to Move Over a lane — when you can safely do so — for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles and tow trucks or wreckers. - If you can’t move over — or when on a two-lane road — slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. - Slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less. When you fail to Move Over, you put yourself and others at risk; you could crash into a vehicle or worker. Violating the Move Over law will result in a fine, fees, and points on your driving record – or worse. For everyone’s safety, please #MoveOverFL.Posted by Alachua County Sheriff on Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Seconds after the truck passes, the deputy tells another deputy, “Go get him.” The second deputy follows the truck and eventually stops him. The driver gets out and walks toward the deputy holding what appears to be his wallet.
Minutes later, as the driver leans up against the deputy's cruiser, investigators search his truck and find an open case of beer, according to the Sheriff's Office.
Deputies said they want to use the incident not just as a reminder to drive sober but also that drivers need to move over when they see law enforcement, emergency vehicles, tow trucks, sanitation or utility service vehicles on the side of the road.
If you can’t move over -- or when you're on a two-lane road -- you must slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit. If the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less, slow down to 5 mph.
If you’re caught failing to move over, you will be fined and you could get points on your license as well.