Gators release 2016 football schedule

Florida opens the 2016 season at home against UMass on September 3rd.


GAINESVILLE, Fla. – The Southeastern Conference announced today the 2016 football schedules for all 14 SEC schools.

With 13 playing weekends, beginning Sept. 3, the 2016 schedule includes one open date for each team with the regular season concluding on Nov. 26.

Each team will play eight conference games, including six games against division opponents and two games against non-division opponents. The Gators will host Western Division rival LSU, UF's permanent annual non-division opponent, and travel to Arkansas for the first time since 2008.

Florida opens the season with its first-ever meeting with Massachusetts, followed by its SEC opener in Week 2 against Kentucky - the first time since 2012 that UF will open conference play in the second week.

In the third week, Florida will face North Texas for the second time school history. Previously, the Mean Green beat UF 20-12 in 1947. After wrapping up league play, the Gators will face Presbyterian College on Nov. 19. The only prior meeting between UF and PC was a 41-0 Florida win in 1945.

For the 25th consecutive year, the 2015 season will culminate with the SEC Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 3 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta.
The complete list of 2016 schedules can be found on the SEC's official website, SECsports.com.

2016 Florida Football Schedule
September 3, 2016 Massachusetts (Gainesville, Fla.)
September 10, 2016 Kentucky (Gainesville, Fla.)
September 17, 2016 North Texas (Gainesville, Fla.)
September 24, 2016 at Tennessee (Knoxville, Tenn.)
October 1, 2016 at Vanderbilt (Nashville, Tenn.)
October 8, 2016 LSU (Gainesville, Fla.)
October 15, 2016 Missouri (Gainesville, Fla.)
October 22, 2016 Bye
October 29, 2016 vs. Georgia (Jacksonville, Fla.)
November 5, 2016 at Arkansas (Fayetteville, Ark.)
November 12, 2016 South Carolina (Gainesville, Fla.)
November 19, 2016 Presbyterian (Gainesville, Fla.)
November 26, 2016 at Florida State (Tallahassee, Fla.)
December 3, 2016 SEC Championship (Atlanta, Ga.)