Eight Gators land on preseason All-SEC teams

Camden County's LB Jarrad Davis and CB Teez Tabor were named to the 1st team.


GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Eight Gators have been named to the Coaches’ Preseason All-SEC Team, the Southeastern Conference announced Wednesday. League coaches voted to include two Gators on the first team, three to the second team and three to the third team.
Linebacker Jarrad Davis and defensive back Teez Tabor were both voted to the first team, while offensive lineman Martez Ivey, defensive lineman Bryan Cox, Jr. and punter Johnny Townsend were selected to the second team. Offensive lineman David Sharpe and defensive backs Marcus Maye and Quincy Wilson rounded out the Gator selections on the third team.
Davis was named to Gridiron’s Now All-SEC second team in 2015 as he appeared in all 14 games and totaled the second-most tackles on the team with 98. Davis’ 11 tackles for loss also ranked third on the squad. A season ago, Tabor was tabbed second-team All-American by Sporting News and first-team All-SEC by the league’s coaches, the Associated Press, ESPN.com, Athlon, Pro Football Focus and Gridiron Now. He became the first Gator since Brandon Spikes in 2009 to return two interceptions for touchdowns in a single season, and his four total interceptions tied for second of all SEC players. Tabor appeared in 13 games, nine of which were starts.
Cox totaled 45 tackles during the 2015 season, including 10.5 tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks. In addition, the Fort Lauderdale native also forced and recovered two fumbles last season. Townsend was named a first-team All-SEC performer by ESPN.com and Gridiron Now for his efforts on the field last season. In addition to being one of 10 Ray Guy Award semifinalists, the Orlando, Fla. native tallied 83 punts for an average of 45.4 yards, which ranked third in the country and first in the conference in net punting.
Ivey and Sharpe return experience on an offensive line that will replace just one starter from a season ago. In addition, that line helped former Gator Kelvin Taylor become just the ninth player in school history to break the 1,000-yard plateau.
In 2015, Maye garnered first-team All-America honors from USA Today and Pro Football Focus and honorable mention All-American honors from Sports Illustrated. In his 13 game appearances and 12 starts, Maye forced five fumbles, good for second-most in the country, and recovered two. His 82 tackles ranked fourth-most of the Gators. Meanwhile, Wilson appeared in 14 games last season and started in nine of those contest at cornerback. Statistically he had 19 tackles, two interceptions and five pass breakups.
UF, ranked 25th in the preseason Coaches’ Poll, will begin its 2016 season on Sept. 3 against Massachusetts at 7:30 p.m. on SEC Network. Season and single-game tickets are on sale now at FloridaGators.com/tickets.
* indicates a tie
TE           O.J. Howard, Alabama
OL           Cam Robinson, Alabama
Dan Skipper, Arkansas

Greg Pyke, Georgia

Alex Kozan, Auburn
C             Ethan Pocic, LSU
WR          Calvin Ridley, Alabama
Christian Kirk, Texas A&M
QB          Chad Kelly, Ole Miss
RB           Leonard Fournette, LSU
                Nick Chubb, Georgia
AP           Christian Kirk, Texas A&M

DL           Myles Garrett, Texas A&M
Jonathan Allen, Alabama
Derek Barnett, Tennessee
Carl Lawson, Auburn
LB           Reuben Foster, Alabama
Kendell Beckwith, LSU
*Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee
DB          Eddie Jackson, Alabama
              JALEN TABOR, FLORIDA
              Cameron Sutton, Tennessee
              Tre’Davious White, LSU

Special Teams
PK           Daniel Carlson, Auburn
P             JK Scott, Alabama
RS           *Christian Kirk, Tennessee
                *Evan Berry, Tennessee

TE           Evan Engram, Ole Miss
OL           William Clapp, LSU
               Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M
               MARTEZ IVEY, FLORIDA
               *Alphonse Taylor, Alabama
               *Braden Smith, Auburn
C             Brandon Kublanow, Georgia
WR          Fred Ross, Mississippi State
                Malachi Dupre, LSU
QB          Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee
RB           Jalen Hurd, Tennessee
Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt
AP           Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

DL           Montravius Adams, Auburn
               Charles Harris, Missouri
               Bryan Cox, Florida
               Davon Godchaux, LSU
LB           Tim Williams, Alabama
               Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt
               *Brooks Ellis, Arkansas
               *Arden Key, LSU
DB          Jamal Adams, LSU
               Dominick Sanders, Georgia
               Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
               Tony Conner, Ole Miss

Special Teams
PK           *Adam Griffith, Alabama
*Elliott Fry, South Carolina
RS           Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia

TE           Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas
Mason Zandi, South Carolina
Jashon Robertson, Tennessee

Frank Ragnow, Arkansas
C             *Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
*Frank Ragnow, Arkansas

*Jon Toth, Kentucky
WR          Travin Dural, LSU
Drew Morgan, Arkansas
QB          Brandon Harris, LSU
RB           Stanley “Boom” Williams, Kentucky
Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State
AP           Derrius Guice, LSU

DL           Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss
Lewis Neal, LSU
*Deatrich Wise, Arkansas
*Daeshon Hall, Texas A&M
*A.J. Jefferson, Mississippi State
LB           Richie Brown, Mississippi State
Oren Burks, Vanderbilt
Lorenzo Carter, Georgia
Marlon Humphrey, Alabama

Johnathan Ford, Auburn


Special Teams
PK           Gary Wunderlich, Ole Miss
P             Trevor Daniel, Tennessee
RS           *Marcus Davis, Auburn
                *Cameron Sutton, Tennessee
                *Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State