57ºF

Armada will play home matches at UNF this season

Played last two seasons at Baseball Grounds

photo

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – After two seasons of playing home matches at the Baseball Grounds, the Jacksonville Armada will play home games at Hodges Stadium at the University of North Florida.

The team will host 16 home matches in the 2017 North American Soccer League season. The stadium has a capacity of 9,400, larger than the soccer configuration for the Baseball Grounds, which was called Community First Park when the Armada played there.

"Hodges Stadium is a fabulous soccer facility and will provide Armada FC fans an excellent game day experience,” said Armada FC senior vice president of operations Marshall Happer. “It has hosted many top events in its history and our team looks forward to hosting its fans at the new home venue. The stadium's close location to our fan base will be an added bonus for the club."

When the U.S. Men's National Team played in Jacksonville, they used Hodges Field as their practice field. When the Super Bowl was played in Jacksonville in 2005, it served as the Philadelphia Eagles practice field.

The 2017 NASL schedule was also released Monday. The Armada will open their third season in the North American Soccer League on Sunday, April 2 at 4 p.m. against FC Edmonton at Hodges Field at UNF.

The NASL season begins the previous weekend, but the Armada will have a first week bye.

The spring season features 16 matches, eight home and eight away.

After opening the season on April 2, the Armada go to Edmonton the following Saturday before returning home on April 15 to face the expansion San Francisco Deltas for the first time at 7 p.m.

After a road match at the New York Cosmos on April 22, the Armada return home for back-to-back home matches on April 29 against Indy Eleven and May 6 against the Cosmos. Both matches kickoff at 7 p.m.
Three road matches follow, first at North Carolina FC (formerly the Carolina RailHawks), then a Friday night match at San Francisco before a return trip to New York.

The Armada return home to Hodges Stadium for a pair of matches, the first being Sunday, May 28 against North Carolina at 4 p.m., before hosting Miami FC for the first time this season on Saturday, June 3 at 7 p.m.

After road matches at Indy and Miami, the Armada are back on the First Coast on Sunday, June 25 for a 6 p.m. kickoff against Puerto Rico FC, followed by a July 1 home match against FC Edmonton at 7 p.m. After that, the team finished the spring season on the road at Puerto Rico and Indy Eleven.

The fall season schedule for the Armada includes two Wednesday home matches, five Sunday home matches and one Saturday home match

Jacksonville opens the fall season at home on July 30 at 6 p.m. against San Francisco. After matches at Puerto Rico and North Carolina, the Armada return home for two matches in four days. Wednesday, Aug. 16, the club will host Puerto Rico FC, then Miami on Sunday, Aug. 20 at 6 p.m.

Following a two-game road trip to Indy and New York, the Armada return home Sept. 9 at 7 p.m. against Indy. They don’t play again until Sunday, Sept. 24 against Miami. Back-to-back road games against Miami and Edmonton are followed by a three game home stand, the longest stretch of the season, Sunday, October 15 against North Carolina FC at 4 p.m., Wednesday Oct. 18 against Edmonton at 6:30 p.m. followed by the home finale on Sunday Oct. 22 against the Cosmos at 4 p.m. The team will finish the fall season with a road match at San Francisco.

DATE

TIME (ET)

HOME TEAM

AWAY TEAM

Sunday, April 2

4:00 p.m.

ARMADA

Edmonton

Saturday, April 8

9:00 p.m.

Edmonton

ARMADA

Saturday, April 15

7:00 p.m.

ARMADA

San Francisco

Saturday, April 22

7:00 p.m.

New York

ARMADA

Saturday, April 29

7:00 p.m.

ARMADA

Indy

Saturday, May 6

7:00 p.m.

ARMADA

New York

Saturday, May 13

TBA

North Carolina

ARMADA

Friday, May 19

10:30 p.m.

San Francisco

ARMADA

Sunday, May 28

4:00 p.m.

ARMADA

North Carolina

Saturday, June 3

7:00 p.m.

ARMADA

Miami

Saturday, June 10

7:30 p.m.

Indy

ARMADA

Saturday, June 17

7:30 p.m.

Miami

Armada

Sunday, June 25

6:00 p.m.

Armada

Puerto Rico

Saturday, July 1

7:00 p.m.

Armada

Edmonton

Saturday, July 8

7:30 p.m.

Puerto Rico

Armada

Saturday, July 15

7:30 p.m.

Indy

Armada

Sunday, July 30

6:00 p.m.

Armada

San Francisco

Saturday, August 5

7:30 p.m.

Puerto Rico

Armada

Saturday, August 12

TBA

North Carolina

Armada

Wednesday, August 16

6:30 p.m.

Armada

Puerto Rico

Sunday, August 20

6:00 p.m.

Armada

Miami

Saturday, August 26

7:30  p.m.

Indy

Armada

Sunday, September 3

7:30  p.m.

New York

Armada

Saturday, September 9

7:00  p.m.

Armada

Indy

Sunday, September 17

5:00 p.m.

New York

Armada

Sunday, September 24

4:00 p.m.

Armada

Miami

Sunday, October 1

6:00 p.m.

Miami

Armada

Friday, October 6

9:00 p.m.

Edmonton

Armada

Sunday, October 15

4:00 p.m.

Armada

North Carolina

Wednesday, October 18

6:30 p.m.

Armada

Edmonton

Sunday, October 22

4:00 p.m.

Armada

New York

Saturday, October 28

10:00 p.m.

San Francisco

Armada

 


About the Author: