Union County grad CJ Spiller among 13 headed to College Football Hall of Fame

Running back C.J. Spiller of the Clemson Tigers runs the ball against the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets in the 2009 ACC Football Championship game at Raymond James Stadium on December 5, 2009 in Tampa, Florida. (Photo by J. Meric/Getty Images) (J. Meric, 2009 Getty Images)

Union County High School graduate CJ Spiller, Heisman Trophy winner Carson Palmer and former Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops are among the 13 former players and coaches who make up the latest College Football Hall of Fame class.

The National Football Foundation announced the newly elected hall of famers Monday. This class will be inducted in December.

Spiller rushed for 5,511 yards and scored 93 touchdowns at Lake Butler before going on to Clemson. He was the ACC player of the year in 2009. His 2,680 all-purpose yards in 2009 remain an ACC record. Spiller’s 7,588 career all-purpose yards also ranked No. 1 in conference history.

Joining Spiller, Palmer and Stoops will be versatile running back Darren Sproles of Kansas State; offensive tackles Harris Barton of North Carolina and Aaron Taylor of Notre Dame; defensive stars David Fulcher of Arizona State, Dan Morgan of Miami; Kenneth Sims of Texas; Andre Tippett of Iowa and Al Wilson of Tennessee. Former Eastern Illinois quarterback and current CBS NFL analyst Tony Romo was also selected for induction along with former Florida A&M coach Rudy Hubbard.

Palmer won the Heisman in 2002 for the Trojans and went on to be the first overall pick in the 2003 NFL draft by the Cincinnati Bengals.

Stoops coached Oklahoma from 1999-2016, leading the Sooners to their last national championship in 2000. Oklahoma went to two more BCS title games with Stoops and won 10 Big 12 championships.

He is the sixth Oklahoma coach to be inducted into the Atlanta-based Hall of Fame, including Bud Wilkinson and Barry Switzer.

Stoops and Tippett were teammates on the Iowa’s Big Ten championship team in 1981.