Jaguars RB James Robinson lands on season-ending all-rookie team

Jacksonville Jaguars running back James Robinson, right, gains yardage as he tires to get past Tennessee Titans safety Kevin Byard (31) during the second half of an NFL football game, Sunday, Dec. 13, 2020, in Jacksonville, Fla. (AP Photo/Stephen B. Morton) (Stephen B. Morton, Copyright 2020 The Associated Press. All rights reserved)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Jaguars running back James Robinson has landed on his first all-rookie team.

The undrafted free agent was named to the Pro Football Writers of America All-Rookie squad on Tuesday afternoon.

The rookie of the year honors on the PFWA team went to Chargers quarterback Justin Herbert (offensive) and Washington defensive end Chase Young (defensive). Herbert was also tabbed the overall top rookie.

None of Jacksonville’s 12 draft picks in 2020 made the squad.

Robinson had 10 total touchdowns (seven on the ground, three receiving) for Jacksonville in 2020, despite missing the final two games with an ankle injury.

The undrafted rookie from Illinois State was named the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Month in September after a stellar start to the season. Robinson put his name in the conversation as the top undrafted rookie running back ever.

He finished with 1,070 rushing yards and 1,414 yards from scrimmage for the 1-15 Jaguars. Robinson is also in the running for the Pepsi Zero Sugar NFL Rookie of the Year.

Pro Football Writers of America All-Rookie Team


QB – Justin Herbert, Los Angeles Chargers

RB – James Robinson, Jacksonville Jaguars; Jonathan Taylor, Indianapolis Colts

WR – Chase Claypool, Pittsburgh Steelers; Justin Jefferson, Minnesota Vikings

TE – Harrison Bryant, Cleveland Browns

C – Lloyd Cushenberry III, Denver Broncos

G – Damien Lewis, Seattle Seahawks; Mike Onwenu, New England Patriots

T – Jedrick Wills Jr., Cleveland Browns; Tristan Wirfs, Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DL – Derrick Brown, Carolina Panthers; Raekwon Davis, Miami Dolphins; Javon Kinlaw, San Francisco 49ers; Chase Young, Washington Football Team

LB – Kenneth Murray Jr., Los Angeles Chargers; Patrick Queen, Baltimore Ravens; Isaiah Simmons, Arizona Cardinals

CB – Cameron Dantzler, Minnesota Vikings; L’Jarius Sneed, Kansas City Chiefs

S – Jeremy Chinn, Carolina Panthers; Antoine Winfield Jr., Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Special Teams

PK – Rodrigo Blankenship, Indianapolis Colts

P – Tommy Townsend, Kansas City Chiefs

KR – Isaiah Rodgers, Indianapolis Colts

PR – James Proche II, Baltimore Ravens

ST – Jordan Glasgow, Indianapolis Colts

About the Author:

Justin Barney joined News4Jax in February 2019, but he’s been covering sports on the First Coast for more than 20 years.