VOTE NOW: Meet your 2022 Jacksonville Image Awards finalists

The Jacksonville Image Awards recognizes outstanding achievements in Jacksonville-area communities. (WJXT)

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Voting is underway for the Jacksonville Image Awards.

The annual awards, presented by the Porter Firm, recognize difference makers in the African American community, whether they’re lifelong educators who have found unique ways to reach students or young people leveraging social media into real social progress.

We’ve been collecting your nominations since November, and we’ve narrowed down the list of nominees for each category to a select few. Now it’s your turn to vote on these finalists. Voting runs Jan. 3 through Jan. 23.

The winners will be announced at a live in-person gala sometime in the third-quarter of 2022. The original awards ceremony was scheduled to take place on Feb. 5 but has been postponed due to a spike in the number of COVID-19 cases in Northeast Florida.

RELATED: Meet your 2021 Jacksonville Image Award winners

Without further ado, here are your Jacksonville Image Awards finalists (VOTE BELOW):

The ‘Trailblazer’ Award: This award recognizes pioneers who inspire others to follow their path to greatness with innovative ideas that challenge the status quo.

  • Finalists: Adrienne Martin, Ben Frazier, Hannah Hall

The ‘One to Watch’ Award presented by Johnson & Johnson Vision: This award recognizes individuals who are quickly establishing themselves and making an impact in their particular field or industry.

  • Finalists: Douglas Bryant, Dr. Kimberly Allen, Rebecca Davis

The ‘Be the Change, Be Yourself’ Award: This award recognizes individuals who, having succeeded against immense odds, herald change and prosperity to enhance and enrich the world. They overcome obstacles to show that, through hard work and humility, societal change is possible.

  • Finalists: Angela Harris, James Coleman, Shara Mondy

The ‘Music Excellence’ Award: This award recognizes individuals for their exceptional achievements in music, having made a tremendous impact with their creative works that have helped shape the local music scene.

  • Finalists: John Lumpkin, KuRonde Washington, Meachum Clarke

The ‘Innovator Award’ presented by VyStar Credit Union: This award recognizes individuals who creatively challenge the norm by introducing mainstream culture to avant-garde ideas and making a social impact in their respective industries.

  • Finalists: Dr. Cynthia Smith, Janae Bosquet-Wright, Maxie Coleman

The ‘Education Excellence’ Award: This award recognizes outstanding commitment to the academic development and improvement of a system or community in an effort to enhance the lives of future generations.

  • Finalists: Gail Lewis, Jennifer Robinson, Dr. Rudy Jamison

The ‘Pinnacle Award’ presented by The Porter Firm: This award recognizes those who have achieved professional accomplishments throughout an extensive career and are role models for others to attain similar success.

  • Finalists: Dee Wilcox, U.S. Navy (Ret.) Lt. Cmdr. Herlena Washington, Dr. Leon Haley