Voter’s Guide: Alachua County races

Voter's Guide banner

Alachua County Sheriff Sadie Darnell is being challenged by Clovis Watson Jr. in the August Democratic primary. There is no Republican in the race but a write-in candidate in November keeps the primary closed to only party voters.

Alachua County Democrats will also pick from five candidates looking to fill the open seat of Property Appraiser: Matt Geiger, Susan McQuillanm, Wendy Sapp, Ayesha Solomon and Kelly Suggs. A write-in candidate will keep this primary race also closed.

Two City Council races will also be on the Democratic ballot this month.

  • District 1: Mary Alford and Mike Byerly compete in the Democratic primary, with the winner advancing to face Republican Raemi Eagle-Glenn and a write-in candidate in November.
  • District 3: Anna Prizzia, Jason Stanford and Kevin Thorpe compete in the Democratic primary. The winner will face Republican Joy Glanzer in November.

Two nonpartisan School Board seats are also on the August primary ballot for all voters.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Candidates with names in blue with links have responded to the News4Jax candidate questionnaire.

Visit the Alachua County Supervisor of Election’s Office for more about the candidates running and a sample ballot for the August primary.