1 Clay, 2 St. Johns school administrators receive Governor's Shine Award

Governor's Shine Award recipients (Photo courtesy: Office of Gov. Rick Scott)
Governor's Shine Award recipients (Photo courtesy: Office of Gov. Rick Scott)

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – One Clay County and two St. Johns County school administrators were presented the Governor’s Shine Award Tuesday during a meeting of the Florida Cabinet.

Gov. Rick Scott recognized 10 educators with the award, including Allen D. Nease High School Principal Kyle Dresback, Creekside High School Assistant Principal Kirstie Gabaldon and Lake Asbury Elementary School Principal Sarah Lawson.

“I am proud to recognize 10 of Florida’s top administrators today for their outstanding leadership in schools and districts across our state. Their hard work and commitment to students and teachers help make sure our state offers the highest quality education possible,” Scott said.

The award is presented to teachers and administrators in Florida who make significant contributions in the education field.

The following list includes all of the educators who received the Governor’s Shine Award:

  • Virginia Brouillard, Seminole County: Brouillard is the assistant principal at Bear Lake Elementary School. She was recognized as the 2015 Assistant Principal of the Year for Seminole County.
  • Angela Brown, Broward County: Brown is the director of coaching and induction for Broward County schools. She was the 2015 Principal of the Year for Broward County.
  • Tami DeJames, Martin County: DeJames is the assistant principal at Murray Middle School. She serves as an activities director, new teacher mentoring coordinator and a secondary attendance chairperson.
  • Kyle Dresback, St. Johns County: Dresback is the principal at Allen D. Nease High School. He is a member of the National Association of Secondary School Principals and the Florida Association of School Administrators.
  • Kirstie Gabaldon, St. Johns County: Gabaldon is the assistant principal at Creekside High School. She is currently the president-elect of the Florida Association of School Administrators and previously served as the president of the Florida Assistant Principals Association.
  • Patricia Harvey, Martin County: Harvey is the principal at Port Salerno Elementary School, and has more than 40 years of educational experience. She is responsible for several programs and initiatives at her school including the science, technology, engineering and math, or STEM program; the Professional Learning Community, the Stingray Leadership Team and Port Salerno Talks.
  • Kevin Hendrick, Pinellas County: Hendrick is the principal at Northeast High School. He is the recipient of the Pinellas County Music Educators Association “High School Principal of the Year” and the Pinellas County Mathematics Teachers “Principal of the Year” awards.
  • Sarah Lawson, Clay County: Lawson is the principal at Lake Asbury Elementary School. She is the 2015-2016 recipient of the Principal Achievement Award for Outstanding Leadership. She serves on the Professional Development Advisory Council for the district's 41 schools in her county.
  • Thomas A. Moncilovich, Broward County: Moncilovich is the assistant principal at Sheridan Technical College and Technical High School, and has more than 25 years of teaching experience. He worked with the Florida Department of Education to develop a curriculum for technical programs that is now used statewide. 
  • Guillermo Muñoz, Miami-Dade County: Muñoz is the principal at Homestead Senior High School. He was the 2015 Principal of the Year for Miami-Dade County.