Gators sweep SEC postseason awards


GAINESVILLE – A dominant year in the SEC extended to postseason awards for the Gators. Billy Donovan earned SEC Coach of the Year, Scottie Wilbekin was named SEC Player of the Year and Patric Young took home SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

This is the third time in Donovan's career he received the honor. He also won SEC Coach of the Year last year. Wilbekin is only the second player in Florida history to win the award, joining Chandler Parsons in 2011. Young is the first Gator to win SEC Defensive Player of the Year outright. Corey Brewer shared the honor in 2007. Young also won SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the third time in his career, a first in conference history.

Dorian Finney Smith was named the SEC's Sixth Man of the Year.