Jaguars name captains for 2017 season

Lewis, Linder, Posluszny, Smith and Benn named voted as captains by Jaguars

By Brian Jackson - Digital sports reporter

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. - On Monday the Jacksonville Jaguars announced their captains for the 2017 season. The offense will be led by 12th-year TE Marcedes Lewis and fourth-year C Brandon Linder. Defensively, 11th-year LB Paul Posluszny and fourth-year LB Telvin Smith will serve as captains.

This is the fourth straight season that Posluszny will wear the ‘C’ on his chest.

“Anytime that something is voted on by your teammates that makes it so important,” said Posluszny who is entering his 11th NFL season and his seventh with the Jaguars. “The guys know I don’t talk a lot, I’m not a very vocal person.”

If Posluszny is the quiet lead by example type, fellow linebacker Telvin Smith is the exact opposite. He’s been one of the emotional leaders of the Jaguars since his rookie season.

“Going into my fourth year and I’m talking to guys on their second contract who are being paid millions of dollars and that’s the part that you have to set aside,” said Smith. “You have to say this is what I believe in and as a player and as a team this is where I want this team to go.”

Although the Jaguars captains were voted on by the entire 53-man roster it wasn’t a popularity contest. It’s about who can lead by example and this isn’t a job that’s taken lightly by any of the Jaguars five captains.

“For them to vote me in as team captain for special teams is pretty big,” said wide receiver Arrelious Benn. “It speaks very highly of what they think of me. It doesn’t do anything but add fire to what I’m doing. It definitely even gave me a boost. Not saying that I needed it but it’s that extra dose of confidence and I’m going to go out there and wear it [Captain’s C] with pride.”

Copyright 2017 by WJXT News4Jax - All rights reserved.