3% Cast Early Ballots In Senate Race

Early Voting Continues Through Saturday; Polls Open Tuesday

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Five days into early voting in the primary race between four Democrats hoping to replace Sen. Tony Hill in the state Legislature, only 3,447 people have either voted early or cast absentee ballots in the race.

Raymon Day, Terry Fields, Audrey Gibson and Leandrew Mills III are running in the special election primary for state Senate Dist. 1. All precincts in the district -- which represents about 600,000 people in portions of Duval, St. Johns, Flagler, Putnam and Volusia counties -- will be open on Tuesday.

Candidate Profiles:Senate Dist. 1

There is no Republican in the race, but a write-in candidate did qualify, and so the winner of the Democratic primary will appear on a general election ballot on Oct. 18.

Early voting is available at both elections offices in Duval County -- 105 East Monroe St. and 5200-2 Norwood Ave. -- from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. through Friday and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday.

In St. Johns County, voters can cast ballots at the Supervisor of Elections Office on at 4455 Avenue A, St. Augustine, each day through Saturday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Flagler County offers early voting at its elections office at 1769 E. Moody Blvd. in Bunnell from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. through Friday and on Saturdays from 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

In Putnam County, early voting at the elections center at 2509 Crill Ave. in Palatka will be open through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Early voting ends Sept. 17.

Voters should bring an accepted form of photo and signature ID with them when voting.