JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Drivers know they are supposed to move over for first responders, but they might not realize Florida’s Move Over law also applies to construction crews.
The law requires you to move over for sanitation and utility vehicles, wreckers, or road and bridge maintenance or construction vehicles.
Florida Highway Patrol Master Sgt. Dylan Bryan said the simplest way to tell when people need to change lanes is when you see something on the side of the road with a flashing light.
The state’s requirement to give road, bridge maintenance and construction vehicles more room went into effect in July 2021.
“Florida lawmakers encompassed a lot of additional personnel because those are the same personnel that working alongside of us on the sides of the road,” said Bryan.
At least 191 crashes were caused by drivers who did not move over last year alone and more than 14,000 citations were issued for motorists failing to move over.
Bryan said it’s important to remember those workers are people, too.
“If they’re something on the side of the road with a flashing light, give them the opportunity to get home safely to their families, give them the opportunity to conduct their work in a safe manner, and most importantly give you the opportunity to get home safely,” Bryan said.
He also explained drivers should make a safe decision, not a quick one. Drivers should be prepared to allow those who are trying to move over to get into the nearest lane.
If you can’t change lanes, you must slow down to 20 mph below the posted speed limit or travel at 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less when driving on a two-lane road.
Breaking the law can also land you a fine of up to $500 and three points on your license.